Merit Trophy

The Merit Trophy is the focus of the society year as far as competitions are concerned. The winner has undoubtedly played the best golf throughout the season. Stableford points scored on each of a player’s best three golf days during the season, are added to the points that he scores on both the morning and afternoon rounds of the final golf day. This gives a total of 5 rounds counting for a final merit trophy score.

The Merit Table is also used to determine who is eligible for our Tags Team Challenge Cup competition, which returns in 2023.


2021 Mark Reynolds
2019 Derek Steel
2018 Steve Pittham
2017 Micky Halford
2016 Jason Nicholls
2015 Geoff Raynsford
2014 David Dumigan
2013 Steve Piper
2012 Peter Kennard
2011 David Dumigan
2010 Peter Kennard
2009 Simon Warr
2008 Damian Webber
2007 Phil Bonetti and Mick Hammond
2006 Simon Stoner
2005 Nigel Lamb
2004 Alan Cole
2003 Alan Cole
2002 Dave Treagus
2001 Ian Gibb
2000 Ian Cole
1999 Phil Bonetti
1998 Peter Gibb
1997 Dave Pritchard
1996 Steve Pittham
1995 Peter Higson
1994 Mick Hammond
1993 Ashley Jacobs
1992 Tony Harvey
1991 Rod Wilcock
1990 Steve Feest
1989 Peter Jupp